Skip to content
November 14, 2010 / Danielle

The Year of Nothing New; or, How I Learned How to Stop Shopping and Love My Closet.

strangely, I never wear polosHi.

Before we begin, I should specify; I love clothes.

My name is Danielle, I live in Chicago, and on January 15th, 2011, I’ll turn 27. From that birthday until the next (my entire 28th year), I’ll be doing absolutely no clothes shopping.

I love dresses and shoes. I love tights and skirts. I love (love love) petticoats and jackets, earrings and headbands, belts and scarves and  blouses.

What I don’t love is how much money I spend buying new ones when I have a closet full of beautiful things.

I also don’t love how I use clothes-shopping as a hobby and a thrill; how clothes feel only valuable when they’re new; how much I depend on the act buying and acquiring things to make me happy.

So for 365 days, birthday-to-birthday, I’m going to zip up the wallet and close down the store cards, and walk in the shoes I’ve already got.

Over the next few months, I’ll be documenting my run up to this experience, (aka, “how many white T-shirts and black skirts does a girl actually need”), as well as exploring what got me to start this experiment in the first place (beyond “oh my god, I’d forgotten I owned those five dresses, I must wear them sometime.”)

And then we’ll kick off a year of mixing and remixing, creating and repairing, reusing and redoing, testing my creativity, and teaching me (or hopefully discovering) that there is a point where you can have enough.

Let’s get started, shall we?

Leave a Reply

