Skip to content

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Willow / Jan 20 2011 12:49 am

    Best of everything with your endeavor. I’m sure it will be very a very rewarding experience for yourself and your readers (of which I am)

  2. Emily / Jan 20 2011 8:37 am

    I found your blog from your comment on Gigi’s post. I really liked what you said, “I’m also pretty aware of the fact that my shopping problem has to do with being a little too emotionally dependent on shopping to pick me up on a rough day, or after a difficult time life-wise, and that really bothered me; I didn’t like that I relied so heavily on getting things in order to be happy.” I can relate. I’m also on a clothes-shopping ban now, but pretty far in (4 and a half months). I’ve realized that I just enjoy buying new things. They don’t have to be clothes. They don’t have to be expensive. They can be groceries, a $1 book or a $3 DVD from a resale shop, or a new bar of fancy scented soap, or whatever. I still kind of bothers me that these things are pick-me-ups. I don’t have a conclusion, but I’m definitely learning about myself and what makes me tick thanks to this whole “not buying clothes for a year” thing.

  3. Emily / Jan 20 2011 8:42 am

    I forgot to mention that I also felt relieved when I started my shopping ban. I didn’t have to worry about missing something good on sale. I didn’t have to worry about whether my favorite stores had anything worth checking out. I didn’t have to worry about whether I was carrying the right size to the dressing room. I started my shopping ban not because I had any major spending problem, but just because I realized I was pretty much perfectly happy with my wardrobe, and there was no point in spending time or money to add to it.

  4. Danielle / Jan 20 2011 5:15 pm

    Willow – thank you so much for your kind words! I am delighted to have you along for the ride.
    Emily – I know exactly what you mean about buying things being comforting, period. For some reason I’m much better about handling myself when it comes to DVDs and books – and I never feel guilty indulging in groceries and products, though I don’t often, because consumables are different, after all (we do need to replace them from time to time.)(And there is something totally satisfying about coming home with a big bag of paper towels, soap, toilet paper, all that jazz, and feeling completely stocked up, isn’t there?) Ideally, at some point, I’d love to find a way to distinguish the thrill of getting “things” and the thrill of the upcoming experience . . . projects for later on, I suppose!
    And I’m glad to hear you were relieved too – it’s totally heartening to think this won’t pass – I look forward to hearing about the rest of your time off!

  5. Rezel Mendoza / Jan 29 2012 7:27 pm

    Good luck to you. I was having lunch with some of my girlfriends and I’ve mentioned come February I am on a shopping ban and they all laughed at me, which is I can understand but I’m really going to try for the same reason that you’re doing it. I have so many clothes, up to my neck with accessories and never ending shoes but I’m doing it slowly. I know I can’t just stop cold so I’m putting restrictions on it. My restriction would be the item has to be 50% or more off or thrifted and a $100 a month budget. Just thinking about it is making me nervous. But it needs to be done. I need to stop collecting and actually use what I have. I wish that I have more friends that would do this challenge but sadly I’m the only one that’s a shopaholic.
    I would also like to find someone to swap clothes and accessories with. Anyone a size small, 2? Email me.

Leave a Reply

