Skip to content
February 2, 2011 / Danielle

Day 19

Snowmaggedon, Snowpocalypse, Snowtorious B.I.G. – no matter how you put it, it’s here.

We called it early at work yesterday and I made it home by 3:30 and climbed straight into bed under a pile of blankets . . . and stayed there, with West Wing season 5 and a plethora of snack foods, until this morning.

We’d made the agreement that if the world looked untraversable, we’d get a call; I heard nothing, so I bundled up, getting increasingly grumpy, and hit this world:

Let me remind you – that is downtown Chicago.

As it happened, we were closed.

Woof. So, I came home, frantically checking my phone for the missed text, and feeling pretty lucky the trains were still running.

Here’s what I wore for Snowdin;

Ann Taylor shirt, Hue tights, hunter boots, anthro cord corset dress, sweater handmade by mom

Yes, yes, yes, I’m a lunatic for wearing a skirt – but may I remind you, wet tights dry about six times faster than wet jeans, and in this weather, you’re gonna be snowed and wet no matter what.

Now that it made any difference, anyway, in drifts up to my thigh. (I only got stuck once. And thought I was going to have to start moving like a slinky to make it through.)

The sweater is a hand-me-down from my mother (Hey Mummy!) who is a big knitter, and made this in the 1970s – when I found it in her Goodwill pile, I thought, “I live in Chicago – someday I’m gonna need this” – and so I did.

Stay warm and dry, folks. I’m going to finish up West Wing and perhaps (perhaps!) maybe even get a few of the items on my to-do list done . . . but surely, a snow day is a free space, right?

(And – I’m going to make a snow angel. Yup.)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. rhinestoneworld / Feb 2 2011 7:43 pm

    I considered a skirt today for those precise reasons. I ended up with cords. Nice snow repelling ability. I should have worn a cord skirt!

    • Danielle / Feb 2 2011 9:17 pm

      I JUST realized this would have been the perfect excuse to wear those pants! (Oh, well. next Snowmaggedon it is.)

Leave a Reply

