Skip to content
May 4, 2011 / Danielle

Day 110

Today’s ensemble is brought to you by old facebook photos – I stumbled across a picture of myself in this dress and thought “oh, man, I need to wear that again”. In the spirit of dressing for the office, however, I couldn’t find a styling option I liked  . . . til I did a little fancy footwork and added the blouse and belt:

anthro everything but Payless shoes

This dress (the Salty Seas dress, last season at anthropologie – but ‘The Lobster dress” to my circle of friends) is a little bit notorious in the crowd I run with – for it engendered a great debate about whether it’s Schiaperelli-esque fashion? Or just the style of Ms. Frizzle.

I, naturally, choose the former – as I’m not styling it with iguana-shaped shoes.

Nevertheless, the dress gets compliments where ever it goes (and probably an equal number of politely quiet naysayers). I love it and am flummoxed by it in equal measure (it’s one of those pieces that you can’t believe you still own, and yet you put it on and go “. . . .awww, I love this”). I’m excited to see that it layers well (versatility, you are the name of my keeper pieces.) (Lobsters? I never thought you’d lend yourself to versatility.)

And naturally – you’ve seen all the rest but the spectator pumps – which are, probably, eight years old? And were purchased from Payless. I don’t wear them often (again, not much of a heels girl), but for the twenty-odd bucks they cost me, they’ve done themselves proud.

I’m off to a commercial audition (and still debating on whether I should change for something a little more boring – I’ll take something simple in my purse and change if the moment takes me.)

Previously on the blog:

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Julia Bradbury / May 4 2011 2:46 pm

    Hi Danielle , lovely Outfit you’re wearing ,wouldn’t look out of place anywhere.
    Hope you are on the mend and back to your fighting weight.
    Finally I would urge you to invest in a digital Camera, they don’t cost a fortune and your pics will be much sharper.
    Cheers,
    Julia

    • Danielle / May 4 2011 2:53 pm

      Hi Julia,
      Thanks so much for your kind words, as ever! I actually had a camera (as you may notice from a few weeks back) that was damaged while I was taking pictures (blown over by the wind, if you would believe it!) and is currently being repaired. I’m looking forward to having it back just as much as you are!

Leave a Reply

