Skip to content
July 21, 2011 / Danielle

Day 187

Yes, yes, I’m a day behind, I’ll catch up.

Today I was up early to head to the airport, and now? I’m in Austin, TX for the wedding of two of my close high school friends. (They’ve been in love for ages and it’s totally wonderful and I’m so excited to be here.)

Beyond being excited to be at the wedding, in fact, I’m overjoyed to be on a forced mini-vacay. When I realized that the wedding would fall within ten days of my cross-country move, I worried that I’d crammed too much into my schedule. But now that I’m settled into a clean, cool hotel room with room service and free happy-hour Shinerbock? Mmmm . . . it’s the best. No sweaty Chicago apartment crammed with boxes and papers everywhere, away from my pages-long to-do list, with access to a pool and endless TV? Heaven.

I actually threw on a different dress for today, but had to switch last minute when I covered it in deodorant marks (at eight am, I was already a sweaty mess and had to wiggle into it . . . . nightmare. So I grabbed this little silk tank and went from there:

anthro shell & skirt, Alfani sandals

I’d actually regulated it to my PJ drawer ages ago, having not found a way to wear it; but I dug it back out after several weeks of Ms. Kendi Everyday’s fantastic silk-tops-tucked-into-pencil skirts. (Speaking of the fabulous Ms. Kendi, she wrote a fantastic, fantastic post about the evolution of her 30-for-30, and I love exactly what she says about your closet being “a well-curated collection of infinite possibilities”. To quote my British grandmothers? Bang on the nose, Kendi. That’s just what I’m working towards right now –  and beautifully expressed.)

Mixed up:

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sarah / Jul 22 2011 10:50 pm

    Hello! I found your website through my daughter’s website: pantomimepapers. I just wanted to tell you that I totally love your concept for a blog!! My daughters grew up thrifting because we have a large family….eight daughters and well, l whole lot of boys!! If you have time while you are in Austin, you might check out some of the thrift stores there……or anywere in Texas for that matter!! Bargains are to be had!! Thank you so much for your posts…….I love your sense of style!!

    • Danielle / Jul 28 2011 5:39 am

      Hi Sarah! I love Heather’s blog 🙂 and I’m so glad you like mine! I was definitely rushing in and out of Austin last week, but I’ve heard such great things about it that I need to go back – and when my year’s up, I’ll have to add thrifting to my list!

Leave a Reply

