Skip to content
August 15, 2011 / Danielle

Settling in in sunny California

Hey y’all. I know I’ve been completely absent all weekend (to be fair, I was literally typing up the final moments of a Friday post for you when the movers’ truck pulled in a half-hour early.)  I’ve spent the last three days emptying my things from 31 boxes (with four or five left to go)!

And now that my clothes are here (and the new rail in my closet installed – and to be honest – SO much more easily than I expected it to be), I’m facing the dilemma of organizing my whole wardrobe.

In some ways, this is great; getting yet another chance to touch and see everything, to know my closet that much better. In others? It continues to score home the point that I just, simply, truthfully, have way too many things. I’ve got a decent sized closet with some vertical space, a trunk for out of season pieces (that you’ll see in some of the rather pathetic outfit photos I snapped of the weekend – I’m still looking for a good space to take them!), and a lovely bureau with five drawers – a girl really shouldn’t need more space than that, should she? I mean, yes, so many of them are outrageously pretty, but – how can I honestly say I need this many things? Especially now that I’m beginning acting class again?

So. I’m working to find a new photo spot, for one (my courtyard would probably work, but I’m shy to reveal myself as a blogger to my friendly neighbors), and then also to figure out exactly what I want to do with my closet.

The move was on. And though complete? The changes have only begun.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Adeline / Aug 15 2011 10:37 pm

    Hi Danielle! I’m new to your blog (actually, I sent you an email over the weekend), and I just wanted to say congrats on making it to SD, and good luck with all the unpacking! I love your blog and I’ve been going through and reading some of your past posts to catch up!
    -Adeline

    • Danielle / Aug 17 2011 6:00 am

      Hi Adeline! I JUST wrote you back – sorry I’ve been so busy! Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. New Dress A Day / Aug 24 2011 5:54 am

    Yay for your move to SoCal 🙂 I’m in the same ‘post-move’ mode, so I complete understand how you’re feeling. Deep breaths and iced coffees have assisted my case… Best wishes my dear – it’ll all come together! xx M

    • Danielle / Aug 26 2011 4:23 pm

      Thank you so much! I’m finally beginning to feel settled, now that most of the furniture is in place and the clothes are unpacked and the cat and I are both under this roof.
      Also, I love your project and your blog, btw!

Leave a Reply

