Skip to content
September 13, 2011 / Danielle

Hey, you darling folk.

I’m so, so sorry for my hiatus here. I had no idea that my life was going to get this busy; or rather, that so much of my mental energy would be taken up. (I mean, clearly, I should have made a guess, but I used to do such a great job of balancing my work schedule with my theatre schedule with my social life with my second job. . . . )

Such a good job, in fact, that I didn’t anticipate the change that spending the vast majority of my time in class would bring about. I expected to be just as busy; I did not expect that so much of my brain would be needed to process the reading, create the scenework, and begin a grand shift into the acute and nimble listening that I’m going to need to polish my craft for the next two years.

That’s two wordy paragraphs to basically say: while I barely have the time to blog (let alone take pictures, let alone pick out cute things to wear), I am totally lacking the brainpower.

Don’t worry; I’m not fully abandoning you, and I’m not tossing out the project. (If nothing else, I’m starting to wear less and less of my closet, due to my creative energies being so completely engaged elsewhere – the last thing I want to think about is putting together an outfit when I’ve got three papers, a presentation and two audition scenes to create.)

But I am definitely trying to figure out if I can go on snapping images; I may not be able to document daily, as I’ve been able to in the past.

Let me tell you this, though; with the exception of (greatly) missing my Nebraskan family and my Chicagoan friends, I’ve never been more alive. I have a cute little apartment that I adore, I have a secure financial stream coming in, and I wake up every morning to a sunny day, a short commute through a gorgeous canyon in a cute little car, and then incredibly talented, smart people doing me the favor of giving me access to their wealth of knowledge about my favorite thing in the world.

There have already been a handful of moments where I’m not sure it’ll ever be possible to be more happy.

So. I’ve begged your patience so often I know you’ve probably given up me, and I don’t blame you! But know that I’m learning more and more than my shopping was such a big bandage over my ache for creative control. Now that I’ve been blessed with this gift? I need it less and less. And actually? I can boldly say – I no longer need clothes to make me happy.

I know. A new evolution.

I knew this year was going to change my life, but I had no idea how much.

( . . .  . now, that doesn’t mean I don’t still like them a whooooooooole bunch. Y’all understand me.)

I’ll try to keep you posted. Hang in there, y’all.

 

Leave a Reply

