Skip to content
April 17, 2011 / Danielle

A Quarter Way Through: Celebrate With Me!

I mean. Except for, you know, when appropriate.***

Here we are, on the other side of the first quarter (with 272 days (39 weeks) to go.) I’m pretty amazed t0 be here, I’m not gonna lie. And while I still crave new things (and struggle just a little to say no), I’m learning to ride out the urges, reprogram my brain (and really listen to myself), and realizing that when all else fails? Turning back to my closet usually yields something great.

But there’s been another element to my ability to ward off temptation – and that’s this blog, and you, you awesome reader-folk you. When frustrated, I could vent here; when uninspired, I found a reason to go looking for some new twist on an ensemble; and sharing a new idea or even a failed attempt? Was sweeter for being shareable.

So; in honor of my 25% progress, I’m offering one $25 Visa Gift card to a lucky reader.

Oh, but there’s a catch. You’ve got to use this gift card towards building your own complete closet. Cause y’all know I do not condone (my own) (shameless) mindless shopping. I don’t care if it’s the perfect, gorgeous, splurgey, beautiful dress (that you just can’t live without, and will make you smile every rare moment you get to wear it), or if it’s to replace your must-have-can’t-live-without-them-and-I-should-know-I’ve-tried jeans, or even if you just need to replenish your tights collection (though, in that case, you should come over, I have them basically to last us both through zombie apocolypse.)

So – if you’d like to be in the raffling – leave a comment below and let me know what one piece would complete your closet and make your daily getting dressed an easier delight*.

I’ll also throw in another entry for Twitter followers – new ones and those currently following – and another! – if you’re a fellow blogger who thinks this is something your own readers might be interested in, and feel like mentioning it on your blog. I’ll put everything into a hat (my fedora!) and pull a winner on (of course) April 25th! (And Ali and Cynthia, if it’s either of you? I’ll keep the gift card until after your shopping freezes and send it then. 🙂

I would totally bake you all cookies if I could. You know it. (Well – actually – it’s more likely that I’d make $20 Trader Joe’s sangria and Amazingbread.) (But if you’d tasted Amazingbread – you wouldn’t miss the cookies. Trust me. It’s that good.)

I can’t tell you how much my life has changed just since starting this project. I’m excited to move forward, I’m so grateful that you’ve chosen to join me, and I can’t wait to get creative for Quarters 2, 3, and 4.

Let’s do this.

*Okay, I’ll start. I’ve been looking around and cursing the fact that my only pair of wide-leg jeans? Is a size 27. When I am definitely, currently, a size 29-28-when-I’m-Mastercleansing. Dammit, I will find a way to get into them. A little Cisco and fishing wire, perhaps?

**Also, I was getting really, really jealous of everyone in their gorgeous, loose, long-sleeved blouses . . . when, umm, I found one. In my closet. That I’d purchased in 2007 and have since worn twice – because, okay, it’s Marc by Marc Jacobs and I loved it but it was really delicate and, well, anyway – it turns out – I have one. (You’ll see it soon.)

***Again – so. many. perks. to working with a photographer. (I just got to dig this one out of archives) (Thanks again, Janna.)

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Emily / Apr 17 2011 7:02 pm

    I’m thinking I could really use some white sailor-inspired shorts this summer and a pair of new brown sandals to replace the ones I wore out last year.

  2. Lavina / Apr 18 2011 12:22 am

    I’d probably invest in a few (more) great jersey dresses or one really nice pair of jeans.

  3. Mikaela / May 4 2011 3:19 am

    I would love a pair of white linen pants for an breezy summer outfit.

Leave a comment